Saturday, June 30, 2012

Just a little love.


Almost everyone I know keeps going on about how bad Nigeria is and how our leaders are our problem. I beg to differ, 'WE ARE OUR PROBLEM'. They all go on about how they want a better Nigeria, and how they wish things would just get better. I have just one question 'WHAT HAVE YO DONE TO CHANGE THINGS AROUND YOU'? Some even go on to say they are looking for the quickest ticket out of Nigeria to developed countries. I have just one reply to them 'IF THE CITIZENS OF THESE DEVELOPED COUNTRY YOU ARE RUNNING TO DECIDED TO BE LIKE YOU, WHERE WOULD YOU HAVE TO RUN TO'?
The biggest problem with Nigeria is not our leader, it is NIGERIANS. We are Nigeria's greatest problem. We don’t love her enough, so we are not willing to put in the effort required to make her better. Every one complains about how bad things are yet they are not willing to do their parts to make Nigeria better.
Agreed the leaders are a big part of our problem. But ask yourself this question 'DONT I ENABLE THEM BY REFUSING TO DO MY PART'? When we refuse to play our parts are we not giving their corruption an enabling environment to fester? If everyone one does their part, would these politicians have the 'TOOL' required to carry out their evil corrupt acts. I mean they are not God; there is no way they can do it all by themselves.

It’s about time we stop pointing fingers and start making efforst to change Nigeria. Nobody loves Nigeria that is the problem. You don’t expect to have a normal child when you don’t show her any love. A child needs love to become a social acceptable woman tomorrow; she doesn’t become that magically. Start loving Nigeria today and see the difference.

Love Nigeria a little today.

Monday, June 25, 2012

The 11th commandment.

The commandment of exs, aptly named the 11th commandment by my friend. In her opinion, all exs are STRICTLY out of bound. You are not to touch these exs, not even with a ten foot pole.
In the girl world, there is an unspoken law that exs of friends not to talk of siblings are out of bound. This same rule applies to chykers of siblings. This rule is not written anywhere and cannot be found anywhere. It is a lawyou are meant to obey without even being told about it. In law, ignorance of the law is not an excuse, same logic can be applied here right, lol. It is something that you are born knowing, you just know this instinctively. The opposite can be said in the boy world, where the ex of a friend or sibling becomes fair game, she becomes a mission to some of them. It becomes a game to see how many members of the gang can woo and get her into bed; the first one to do that becomes a mighty conqueror, until the cycle begins again and he is dethroned or wins again.
I knew of a girl who made it a habit to ‘steal’ exs and chykers of friends. Well one day she got what she had been stupidly looking for when she got a surprise hot (very) water bath from one of her friends. Let’s just say she settled down pretty quickly after that. I don’t support her friend’s method, but it sure taught her the lesson she ought to have learnt in her mama’s womb.
Making this law of strict application is rather drastic in my opinion. Come on, we can’t help who we fall in love with right? Like with the law, there is an exception for every general rule. The exception in this case in my opinion is DISCLOSURE. Yup, disclosure. When you approach you friend or sister about this ex or chyker you suddenly developed feelings for, then in my opinion you can carry on the relationship. Some friends or sisters may not be happy about it, some may out rightly forbid it, some may be cool with it, some may come around, some may never approve. What is important here is that they had fore knowledge about it, you don’t just spring that as a surprise at your pool party and expect to go home without ‘drinking small pool water’, lol.
Like I said we can’t help who we fall in love with, but we can make sure our love has a smooth ride, trust me it would be a bumpy ride if you have that on your mind throughout the relationship. I know of a girl that was in this position, her best friend had date this dude for about three years, but they had a bumpy relationship and broke up, not that it matters right. Four years down the line, girl meets bestie’s ex and they become friendly again after losing touch. The moment she noticed it was becoming more than just friends, she lets bestie know, bestie pretentiously grants her permission but is unhappy about it. This girl is happily married now with baby number three on the way, so tell me; in your opinion should she have stayed away from him because he was bestie’s ex?
11th commandment or not, just make sure you make a full disclosure.

My opinion.

Blogging has never been one of my strongest points, if you think I'm lying check out this site,http://almostfaymous.blogspot.co.uk/. That was my pitiful attempt at blogging, went nowhere for over a year. I started this new blog with the hope of blogging every day; unfortunately it coincided with the deadline for most of my course work. Well course works are done now and I hope to blog more often, hehehe.
I didn’t realise why I was such an inconsistent blogger till I saw a tweet from Alibaba, someone asked him why he didn’t blog about what normal blogs blog about. His reply to the person summed up to the fact that, that wasn’t his style. That was when it hit me; I had been trying to blog like others, but that wasn’t my style, that was why I was inconsistent. I was not doing me, I was doing somebody else. I have decided that, that has to change, I would do what I do best, give my opinion on things. It might not be the best opinion out there, hell it might not be the smartest, it might not be the most politically correct, it might change from minute to minute, but what is important is that it is my own opinion.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Be the change you seek.

I saw a tweet about military presence being the change needed in Northern Nigeria.
Is that really the solution we need? We need change that much is true. How the change comes is the issue now. After reading that tweet, I retweeted asking what happens when the military leaves the north.
The saying we are the change we need comes to mind anytime i tink of Nigeria. For nigeria to get better we have to be the change we want and work towards it.The fact that our leaders have failed us doesnt mean we have to remain stuck in the rot we find ourselves.I mean you work hard to make money, you dont sit at home and wait for the government to come give you some. Why then does it have to be different for the change we are seeking for Nigeria, you dont have to wait for the government to bring about the needed change, why not work towards it.
Making Nigeria a better place doesnt require a lot of work, its actually quite simple. If everyone just does his or her part, change would come to Nigeria, we would get the Nigeria we want.You dont go about taking bribes and expect Mr B to reject bribes, come on hes no fool, he would take it just like you. Besides you wouldnt have any moral justification to ask him to stop taking bribe.If we all just do our parts Nigeria would be great. If i do my job without taking bribes, is that not part of the change i seek, if i get to the front of the line without cutting the line is that not the change i seek. i f i do the right things at the right time, is that not the change i seek, if pastors and imams remind their congregation that violence is not the way out, is that not the change we seek.
The truth is change would not come to Nigeria in a big way, it would not just be dropped on Nigerians, it would not happen overnight. Change would slowly creep up on us when we start practicing the change we want to see, it would be a gradual process. At first we wouldnt even notice the change, until one day we wake up, and wow, we live in a different Nigeria.
Say this to yourself everyday, 'I am the change I seek, I am the change Nigeria needs'. Do your part and leave the rest to your fellow country men.
'Be the change you seek'